Stanley Yates - Recordings


Isaac Albeniz
26 Pieces Arranged for Guitar

Stanley Yates Series, Mel Bay Publications Inc., 1999, 192 pages.

"a volume of very innovative transcriptions which have a greater
aesthetic affinity to the six strings than has ever been before ."

Suonare, Italy

       Features of this Edition

  • includes all the standard items of the Albéniz "guitar repertory," along with additional pieces that complete many of the suites and other groupings published during the composer's lifetime

  • based on the earliest editions of the piano originals, faithful to the original expression markings, tempos, and phrasing indications

  • contains extensive background information on Albéniz, his musical style, and the pieces

  • includes reproductions of the (often elaborate) covers of the first edtions, along with interesting photographs of Albéniz and the Spanish cities that inspired his music


"Instead of copying the old transcriptions, Yates has forgotten them.
He has gone to study the epochal editions and has not transcribed, but
recomposed everything that proved kindred to the guitar. He does not seek
to equal the completeness and specificity of the piano writing and this, his
winning weapon, allows him to surpass at great length the Albeniz of
Tarrega, Llobet and Segovia (one doesn't even speak of the others) and
to propose an Albeniz who, had I not known these pages since the age
of rny Confirmation, I would be able to hail as the most inspired,
idiomatic and elegant guitarist-composer of the early 1900s.
Suonare Magazine, Italy

"A wonderfully lavish, scholarly production...the arrangements are extremely
good and show that [Yates] has a keen sense and knowledge of Albéniz's style
...plenty of changes and surprises...the fingering is well thought out and the
presentation is second to none."

Classical Guitar Magazine, England

"From the Piano to the Guitar: Albeniz from the Original Sources.
...bold and interesting we have come to expect from
Stanley Yates, the collection includes biographical notes concerning
the life of Albeniz and a comprehensive discussion of the musical style
of Albeniz, which elevate this edition above comparable collections of music.
Guitar Aktuell, Germany:



Albéniz and the Guitar
Isaac Albéniz (1860-1909)
Albéniz's Musical Style
Notes on the Pieces
Resources and Acknowledgements

Pavana-Capriccio, Op. 12 (1882)

Suite española, Op. 47 (1886):
1. Granada, serenata
2. Cataluna, curranda
3. Sevilla, sevillanas
4. Cuba, capriccio

Recuerdos de viaje, Op. 71 (1886-7):
6. Rumores de la caleta, malagueñas
7. En la playa

Doce piezas caracteristicas, Op. 92 (1888):
2. Minuetto a Sylvia
12. Torre Bermeja, serenata

Dos danzas españolas, Op. 164 (1889)
1. Jota aragonesa (Aragón, fantasia)
2. Tango

España, seis hojos de álbum, Op. 165 (1890):
1. Preludio
2. Tango
3. Malagueña
4. Serenata
5. Capricho catalán
6. Zorzico

Serenata español (Cádiz, cancion), Op.181 (1890)

Mallorca, barcarolla, Op. 202 (1890)

Zambra granadina, danse orientale, WoO (1891

Càdiz-gaditana, WoO (1891)

Chants d"Espagne, Op. 232 (1891-4):
1. Prélude (Asturias, leyenda)
2. Orientale
3. Bajo la palmera (Sous la palmier), danse espagnole
4. Cordoba
5. Seguidillas (Castilla)