Stanley Yates - Recordings



J. S. Bach
The Six Unaccompanied Cello Suites

(arranged for guitar)

Stanley Yates Series, Mel Bay Publications Inc., 1998, 192 pages.

"This is a transcription that makes history...since the time of 
Segovia's version of the Chaconne (1934) there has not been, 
in the history of guitar transcription, a more important event..." 

Suonare, Italy

| prelude 3 (free download) | user area | ordering |


  • fully-fingered performance scores

  • comparison scores which place a transposed version of the originals side-by-side with the arrangements

  • an extensive guide to arranging, interpreting and performing the music of Bach on the guitar


"...a new Bach for the guitar, at the same time serious and audacious...
Yates renders the suites full, smooth, elegant,and persuasive
as they have never been before...
Suonare Magazine, Italy

"...a review cannot fully do it justice."
Classical Guitar Magazine, England

"..the most original of all the arrangements of Bach's Cello Suites..."
Gendai Guitar, Japan

"...a remarkable edition in many respects...a significant contribution
to the musical understanding of the cello suites...recommendable to the
layman for self study and to the professional for stimulation"
Guitar Aktuell, Germany